Royal Cinque Ports Golf Club is an 18-hole links golf course in southeastern England, in the town of Deal in the County of Kent (the course is often known simply as “Deal”).
Founded 131 years ago in 1892, its name derives from Deal’s membership of an ancient group of trading towns granted special privileges by the medieval English monarchs, known as the Cinque Ports. The course runs along the coast of Sandwich Bay, on the same stretch of coastline as Royal St George’s Golf Club and Prince’s Golf Club, adjacent to the north.
Royal Cinque Ports hosted The Open Championship in 1909 and 1920. Two more were scheduled for 1938 and 1949, but both were relocated when abnormally high tides inundated the course; both were held at nearby Royal St George’s. Consequently, the club was removed from the Open Championship rota, but remains a final qualifying course (most recently in 2017).